Honouring Louis Quilico

Louis and Christina Quilico
Louis and Christina Quilico

 

The world of music, and of course our families, suffered a great loss, with the untimely passing of Louis Quilico, 12 years ago today, July 15, 2000.

Louis had a great and lifelong love of singing, “the human instrument.” I thought it would be especially fitting for us to hear him speak about this, from the section “Some Personal Thoughts,” in the †book “Mr. Rigoletto: In Conversation with Louis Quilico”

The most incredible moment of my artistic life was when, as a very young child, I discovered my musical instrument—my singing voice. It was, for me, the unification of body, mind and spirit. Singing grew to become second nature for me, for I had found a love, a true and pure love for singing, that drives me and inspires me to this day.

That is why I have been able to achieve what I have during my career. It is not only the singing that is so wonderful, but the music that drives one to discover and comprehend the emotions and passions that exist within oneself, and in one’s life.

In art, as in life, you must give yourself up completely, meeting challenges with integrity, despite risks. Love of singing creates its own future and embodies everything a singer can hope for in an artistic life.

When you are performing, you are drawn into the mystery of creation. You experience that special moment of magic that is not given to many people, but can transport you into another dimension, just as love does in one’s life.

Louis was so dearly, and so widely loved. Even now, years later, I continue to receive heartfelt appreciation for Louis from fans all over the world, in all the points of internet presence that I maintain in his memory.

Forever loved, forever missed and forever remembered, Wife Christina.

† ISBN 1-896691-83-18

See also “Remembering Louis Quilico on his birthday, January 14

One thought on “Honouring Louis Quilico

Leave a Reply

