Phoenix Ascending – Christina Petrowska Quilico in Concert on June 25, 2015 at the Markham Theatre


Click here to buy tickets.

 The final concert of the season masterfully blends three centuries of music in one glorious night. Beethoven’s The Ruins of Athens Overture, originally commissioned for a theatre opening, is a dramatic work that is sure to stir the soul. Award winning pianist Christina Quilico performs Heather Schmidt’s vibrant Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4; a powerful and majestic work which the composer programmatically subtitles “Phoenix Ascending.” Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 1, penned in the aftermath of the Bolshevik Revolution, is an accomplished work that pulses with both tradition and innovation.

Kristian Alexander | conductor

Christina Petrowska-Quilico | pianist

Alexa Petrenko | host (Classical 96.3 FM radio)


Beethoven, Overture to The Ruins of Athens, Op. 113 | View Notes | Listen

Hearher Schmidt, Piano concerto No.4 “Phoenix ascending”View Notes | Listen

  Shostakovich, Symphony No. 1 | View Notes | Listen

 Concert enhancements:

7:15 p.m.   Pre-concert talk in the foyer of Markham Theatre

        Intermission discussion with Alexa Petrenko and Christina Petrowska-Quilico

        Post-concert complimentary glass of Champagne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s